News

Star Wars: The Old Republic 1.6 update on 11th December
Posted: 09.12.2012 17:55 by Comments: 25
BioWare has announced on the official Star Wars: The Old Republic blog that the MMO will be down on Tuesday, 11th December as the 1.6 update is worked into the MMO.

According to the blog, "Hello everyone, we wanted to let you know that we will be performing scheduled maintenance for six hours on Tuesday, December 11th, 2012 from 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET/7PM AEDT) until 8AM CST (6AM PST/9AM EST/2PM GMT/3PM CET/1AM AEDT). All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than six hours, but could be extended."

The major feature of the 1.6 blog will be a new Warzone called "Ancient Hypergate". Players can team up with other players to fight for control of powerful energy pylons. The pylons will open the ancient Gree hypergate.

The update will also include six new Space Missions for each faction at Heroic difficulty.
Source: SWTOR

Comments

By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Dec 09, 2012
herodotus
Yup, no more SP content. Boo!
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Super Buu!
By nocutius (SI Elite) on Dec 10, 2012
nocutius
Nerd :)
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
It's not my fault I just watched the whole Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z sagas and it's not my fault that Broly is my little avatar.... Wait...it is my fault, but that's not the point.
By nocutius (SI Elite) on Dec 10, 2012
nocutius
My favorite is the first series by far, it was all fun and no trying to be cool too hard.
I still watched them all though :).
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Dragon Ball was great. Dragon Ball Z was also great. But Dragon Ball GT was unnecessary. It was just redundancy. It should have all ended after, at the very latest, the Cell Saga and even that was a bit too much. I feel it should have been over after Frieza. But, it didn't and I'm not really complaining.

On a side note, it would be fantastic if they decided to produce a second season for Ichiban Ushiro no Dai Mao (Demon King Daimao) because it was awesome and a second season would be good. It's continued in the manga, so why not the anime?
By nocutius (SI Elite) on Dec 10, 2012
nocutius
Not yet enough material most likely, they'll get to it eventually if the original run was popular enough.

The one i'm waiting the most for is Berserk, it's gonna be a while before we get all the movies :(.
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Haven't seen that.

What I'm really waiting for is for the third season of Game of Thrones to come out. That happens in the end of March of 2013. I can't wait. It's the reason I've been watching so much anime. In the past few months, I've watched all of Dragon Ball and, just last night actually, I finished DBZ. I also watched all 12 episodes of Ichiban Ushiro no Dai Mao. I watched Rosario+Vampire. Uh... There are others, but those are the most recent. It's obvious that I've been rather bored, recently. :/
By nocutius (SI Elite) on Dec 10, 2012
nocutius
Luckily there are quite a few good anime shows to fill the time :)

You might like Hokuto no Ken, the first arc is slightly weak but the show get's better after if you persevere. You can check it on youtube.

Another recommendation from the genre would be One Piece, it's an absolute masterpiece and one of my favorites, and at current 570 episodes it's gonna last you a while as well :).

About Berserk.
It's a 10/10 show and a must watch just make sure you don't research it at all, the less you know the stronger it's effect is gonna be.
It's an adult show but you're 18 so you're good to go, and by that I don't mean that it's hentai or ecchi. There are a few objectionable scenes but they are there for a proper reason.
The main "flaw" is that the manga wasn't yet finished at the time of the show so it's not complete, hence waiting for the reboot movies. The animation is a bit low budget as well, but the story more than just compensates for it.
One thing I can guarantee you, if you decide to watch it you will read the manga as well :).

If my excel sheet is to be believed I've watched roughly ~400 series so far so I can give you a few more recommendations depending on which genres you like the most.
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
I will definitely check them out. And I read the One Piece manga and have no desire to watch the anime. I liked the manga well enough but I just have no real interest to watch the anime. It's a common theme for me with manga/anime. If I watch the anime, I am not likely to read the manga. If I read the manga, I am not likely to watch the anime. The only exceptions to that so far have been Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, YuYu Hakusho, Naruto, and Ichiban Ushiro no Daimao.

Plus, at 570 episodes, I feel One Piece is not worth watching for it just becomes redundant after a long while. Just a lot of the same themes in a different format. Gets kinda boring.
By nocutius (SI Elite) on Dec 10, 2012
nocutius
One Piece didn't get boring for me at all, I dropped both Naruto and Bleach a while ago cause they turned all emo but I still find One Piece anime great, even after all these episodes I don't feel like the quality has dropped even a bit. Perhaps that's the difference between manga and anime cause the voice actors in One Piece really do a fantastic job and all bring a ton of character (Japanese dub).
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Oh, I don't watch Naruto, or YuYu Hakusho, at all. I just meant that I've both seen the anime and read the manga. I thought YuYu Hakusho was interesting until it got too similar to Dragon Ball Z. And Naruto...I agree. It got too emo. Maybe I will look into watching One Piece.
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Dec 10, 2012
herodotus
Good God, have I dropped into a schoolyard playground or something? Haven't heard such a conversation since I took my young son to a Pokemon card trading market (some 15 years ago). Durpty-durp:)
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
No, actually, this is still Strategy Informer. Did you miss the comment about this is what I've been doing while waiting for Game of Thrones Season 3 to come out? I am quite certain that Game of Thrones is nowhere near schoolyard playground appropriate. And Pokemon is the shit.
By lichlord (SI Core) on Dec 10, 2012
lichlord
tssss pokemon... oh well not everyones childhood animes are the same :P
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Dec 10, 2012
herodotus
Mine was "Gigantor" (the space age robot) and "Speed Racer", but that was the sixties. Aside from "Aeon Flux" I haven't been into any other Anime or even Manga, aide from some videogame spin-offs. As for "Game of Thrones' - March 2013.
In the meantime DAimco, you should catch up with "Pillars Of The Earth" by Ken Follett and produced by Ridley and Tony Scott. Great mini-series from 2010.
By lichlord (SI Core) on Dec 10, 2012
lichlord
i mainly watched Roughnecks: Starship Troopers Chronicles,Men in BLack animted,Heavy gear while it lasted on tv... oh their was jimmy neutron too lol
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
I will look into it, herodotus.
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Dec 10, 2012
herodotus
Yes, loads of Medieval skulduggery and backstabbing. Very impressive British cast as well.
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Sounds quite fantabulous. I will definitely check it out.
By lichlord (SI Core) on Dec 10, 2012
lichlord
im gonan check it myself im short on series too lol
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 10, 2012
DAmicoThunder
Small world
By lichlord (SI Core) on Dec 12, 2012
lichlord
yeah if you find urself short on something to watch try farscape good series season 1 was meh but it very much improved around the end of that

both Ben Browder & Claudia Black play in it they also were in stargate SG1 so its surtenly worth a shot(and i know lol ive seen the series :P)
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Dec 12, 2012
herodotus
If still in the merry Ye Olde England mood, or Henry VIII period specifically, there are the 4 seasons of "The Tudors" as well. Can't beat it.
As for Sci Fi series that can be linked to "Star Trek", in that they were canned before their time and since have become cult shows, there is also "FireFly". At the helm of that is Joss Whedon ("Serenity", the movie of the series and "The Avengers", the Marvell movie hit of this year).
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/8213/fireflyk.jpg
By DAmicoThunder (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 13, 2012
DAmicoThunder
I may look into "The Tudors" but I've seen both "Star Trek" and "FireFly." I liked them, but DB/DBZ was/were the series I watched that I'd already seen. Either way, I may end up watching those again anyway. Only time will tell.