Preview

Call of Duty: World at War Preview (Xbox360)

For those who don’t know, Call of Duty 4 has been the top played game on Xbox Live more than once. Over Halo 3, mind you. It has exquisite multiplayer, and considering the new “Modern Warfare” that the game takes place during, it’s no surprise so many more people tried the game instead of leaving behind another World War 2 shooter. Sucks to be them.

Call of Duty: World at War, made by TreyArch, the developers behind Call of Duty 3 (which, as we reviewed, also had phenomenal multiplayer), brings us back to WW2 for perhaps our final mission before getting on to another war (with the possible exception of a Call of Duty MMO). While single player remains a mystery, we’ve been playing in the multiplayer beta for quite some time now, and are going to tell you all about it.

If there’s anything you need to know, it’s that if you liked COD4, you will like World at War. The multiplayer is fairly identical, with the exception of having WW2 weaponry, and of course all the updates to gameplay. From the menu screen to the style of maps to the swipe of the knife, little has changed from the switch of developers and timelines.






Which means that such things as perks, weapons load outs and custom settings for just about everything are still there. The maps are highly stylized, not in the same way as COD4 but they show plenty of depth. There are many places to climb into and escape from, large open spaces and tight corridors…let’s just say that they are some of the best multiplayer maps we’ve seen thus far. Lighting on some of the darker maps was a concern, something we hope will be fixed in the full release if it hasn’t already.

As mentioned, the biggest change of all is the weapons, since they’re obviously not modern in the slightest. Players who have grown accustomed to the newer technologies will find it hard to go back to shooting single-shot rifles. I’ve had a very difficult time using anything other than a sub-machine gun, and it’s easily one of the more annoying things. What can you do? Live with it.

 

Many of the perks are identical to those in COD4, and the addition of vehicle perks is both titillating and unfortunately almost utterly useless on most accounts. However, it’s become greatly appreciated, especially considering it doesn’t take up the space of another perk, though in my time playing I’ve only gotten in one vehicle. If TreyArch will have more maps in the full release with battles based around tanks, trucks, etc., then this perk is more than necessary, but it’s too early to tell for now.






The previous three, five and seven kill awards are still here, this time giving radar, artillery and attack dogs. The artillery is almost identical to airstrikes from COD4, but the attack dogs are another story. They are essentially weak, easy to kill but hard to shoot dogs that have an easy one-two kill on players. And they come in swarms, over time, so while from a distance they’re easy to pick off, a team of soldiers can easily be overrun if they’re too close. Now the sound of dogs is frightening…and it’s also a great way to start up a conversation about animal cruelty. (Remember, this is Xbox Live.)

One other thing we’re happy to see is two separate forms of team deathmatch: one for groups of friends and another for random people. It may sound odd, but ever want to play a team game by yourself and end up playing against a group of four or six guys who are all playing together? It’s annoying, to say the least, generally for both parties. The former ends up losing and not enjoying themselves, and the latter easily wins without a challenge. This additional gametype is a great idea, and considering how many people will be playing the game, we think it’ll work out great.

So, ready to go back to war for another fight? Check out Call of Duty: World at War, coming out November 11th, 12th and 14th in the US, Australia and the UK respectively, on all platforms. 



Comments

By Wowerine (SI Elite) on Oct 31, 2008
Wowerine
I bet it was a nice experience no matter what you guys are going to say! :P
By ScythSoulces (SI Core) on Oct 31, 2008
ScythSoulces
The only thing I liked about it was blowing people away. lol
By Praetorian (SI Core) on Oct 31, 2008
Praetorian
I just got Beta-multiplayer yeasterday, first it looks like more call of duty 2 to be honest, but its funn to play it online spacialy as japanes lol...
By Knave (SI Core) on Oct 31, 2008
Knave
Let me preface this by saying i haven't played cod 4 so i haven't had a chance to try it's multiplayer.

I find the multiplayer a little too much on the arcade side for my tastes, but that's just my personal preference, seeing russians running around with american weapons made less sense to me.

The levels were fun but everyone was just running around it seemed, though I really like the whole levelling system.
By Praetorian (SI Core) on Nov 01, 2008
Praetorian
Yea you have a good point there a bout just running around...Hope they will make improvements...
By sharpe_ (SI Veteran Newbie) on Nov 02, 2008
sharpe_
As much as I want to play this game I can't help but think that it was announced too soon. I mean CoD4 came out like right before this and I think it's diluting the franchise a bit by spitting out a sequel every year (or in this case months apart).

*Prepares to be flamed >.
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Nov 02, 2008
herodotus
Tryarch began work on this before CoD4 was announced, and so worked on this independently. It also is not meant to be a sequel and is only nicknamed CoD5 by the public. Activision was going to label the next installment CoD5, but now it will be CoD6 because of this.
By herodotus (SI Herodotus) on Nov 02, 2008
herodotus
With the release date fast approaching (a fortnight), they don't have much time to tweak the MP. I wonder if it really is a beta test, or a ruse to attract more customers (sort of like a demo, but pretending its' a work-in-progress).
By Praetorian (SI Core) on Nov 03, 2008
Praetorian
I hope so hero cuz if not, they'r screwed...No one will buy this im sure of it.
By sharpe_ (SI Veteran Newbie) on Nov 05, 2008
sharpe_
Interesting that they added the Japanese as a "faction". I love that screenshot of the Russian, just blows my mind XD.
By Revan (SI Elite) on Nov 26, 2008
Revan
Hey! I just noticed something! Why are all your console previews and reviews only on the 360?!?
By RurikGreenwulf (SI Veteran Newbie) on Dec 11, 2008
RurikGreenwulf
Again WW2 I think a little inovation will be good for the COD series something in the present for god sake, after de suceful of moder warfare
By RurikGreenwulf (SI Veteran Newbie) on Dec 12, 2008
RurikGreenwulf
hey not very Historical If the real russians have to take the death germans clothen and ammo and here you can see 3 soldiers with infinite rocket launchers
By devel (SI Elite) on Dec 12, 2008
devel
Revan006, perhaps the PC's they have don't show the full graphics engine, and they can't play as better as in a Xbox or Ps3.
By nobuargaoda (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 13, 2008
nobuargaoda
No matter previewed in PC or XBOX, Call of Duty's games are just magnificent! I've completed all COD games and all of them are awesome compared with Medal of Honor. Nice preview for a nice game!
By devel (SI Elite) on Dec 13, 2008
devel
It's the opposite for me here, for i never finished a call of duty but have played all Medal's of Honour. Not that it's beter or similar, it's just i don't have time for all of them and MoH's are usually cheaper.
By nobuargaoda (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 13, 2008
nobuargaoda
Oh... That's my reason to saving money, when i went to the game stores, i saw some good games, but i thought that "hey, a better game will be released soon, so maybe i just keep my money and wait for that game!"
That's my opinion, so i can buy a more expensive, but better games. And, i almost forgot, that MoH: Airborne is a fantastic game compared with CoD: Modern Warfare!
By devel (SI Elite) on Dec 13, 2008
devel
Yeah i guess you're right on that, perhaps i should start saving some more money and get those big titles on the market.
By nobuargaoda (SI Core Veteran) on Dec 13, 2008
nobuargaoda
Do that, you will not disappointed by your choice! Patience is the key!
By devel (SI Elite) on Dec 14, 2008
devel
Right now Im saving for Killzone 2, a huge title for next year.
By Wowerine (SI Elite) on Mar 03, 2009
Wowerine
Imagine playing a campaign with the Japs and Nazis. Well that would be a change in the genre (the game might not even get out, because people hate Nazis).

But no more WW2 please!!!
By crawlroman (SI Core) on Mar 12, 2009
crawlroman
I'm not a FPS fan but CoD is great XD